Forums | Albums | Social Groups

Go Back   UGL - We live the Unreal Life! > Main Forums > How To Fix It

How To Fix It Place to post how to fix

Old 04-04-2009, 10:50 AM   #1
Doz
Maniac Drummer

Default 1994 Mazda B3000 V6 Repair info

I used to be an Auto Mechanic and I know better but hey I am human.
I stopped listening to my car noise and I would turn the Music up to Rush or Dream Theater.

I get up for work at 4:30 AM and when I started my Car this past week I would hear a noise from the Hood and it was getting louder each day.
I popped the hood after work one day and I could not find anything unusual and even checked the belt tension.

Thursday while driving to work I go to make a turn to my work place when the dash board Red light comes on and then no power steering.
I almost did not make the turn but Angels watching over me. Probably my Pop. I made the turn and missed the house, cars and trees

I slapped the shifter into neutral so I could coast into the parking lot. I had to back in so I could work on the car later and when I stopped the car, I could smell rubber.
A million things went through my head, like I just blew the engine. I open the hood and found the Serpintin belt ripped and wrapped around the power steering.
There was power steering fluid all over. I guess when I yanked the wheel to make that turn it blew out of the reservoir.

I called the Boss and said that I needed a day to repair my car, I was worried the engine was gone.

later that day I went back under the hood and I found the problem.
Plastic Idler Pulley was broke, melted.

after spending $100 for a new Belt, Metal idler pulley, Oil and Filter and Prolong Engine treatment. I started to make the repairs.

She is back on the Road purring like a kitten.

1994 Mazda B3000 V6 with 72000 miles

So please learn from me. When you hear a noise from your Car.
Turn the radio down and find out what it is.

Or you could be on the side of the Road